Freycinet National Park
Freycinet is a national park on the east coast of Tasmania, Australia’s island state. It occupies a large part of the Freycinet Peninsula, which is named after French navigator, Louis de Freycinet, who sailed past in 1802 as part of his cartographic survey of the southern and eastern coasts of Australia on behalf of the French government. Schouten Island, just off the tip of the peninsula, also makes up part of the park. The island was named in 1642 by Abel Tasman after a member of the council of the Dutch East India Company. The park was founded in 1916 and is one of the two oldest parks in Tasmania.
The dominant feature of the park is the line of jagged peaks of pink granite known as The Hazards. Below is Wineglass Bay with its glorious white sandy beach, considered by many as amongst the best in the world.
Near the base of the peninsula is the Moulting Lagoon, a wetland of international importance gazetted under the Ramsar Convention signed in Ramsar, Iran in 1971. It is home to a variety of water birds, especially black swans, water fowl and migratory birds.
Many small marsupial animals live in the park, including possums, wombats and potoroos while echidnas scuffle around in the undergrowth looking for ants. Tasmanian devils, once common, are now heavily reduced in numbers due to disease. Whales and dolphins visit the bay to feed, calve or rest.